Skip navigation

Family: Asteraceae
Form: Herb
Origin: Native to South Africa.
Weed Type(s): Weed, Naturalised, Garden Escape, Environmental Weed
also: Treasure Flower
orange sunburst

Brought home from the broken plant table at a local nursery, they took quickly to life on a balcony in containers, to my surprise returning after several winters (3 years).

__________________
Gazania is a tough, low-growing perennial herb with lance-shaped leaves and brightly coloured daisy-like flowers in bronze, yellow and orange tones. It produces abundant wind-blown seeds and spreads rapidly. It withstands salt-laden winds and grows well in sandy soils. It is often spread in garden waste.

Gazania is widespread and common in Victoria and naturalised in South Australia and Western Australia.

The related Coastal gazania, Gazania rigens, has become naturalised on coastal dunes and along roadsides from southern Sydney to the central coast, on the Eyre Peninsula and southern Mt Lofty region of South Australia and in the Moreton region of South-east Queensland.
yellowbursts
They need the sun, and soil has to be very well drained and watered daily It faired through the winter here in British Columbia in a balcony planter and continues to bloom rofusely. I bought the plants last year.

3 Comments

  1. I love these. I don’t know much about gardens except there nice to look at. THE Asslym takes my fancy for some funny reason it reminds me of Asylums.I think I am a bit stressed today.I need to spend some more time here in the garden obviously. I think creeping Betty has more character than caltivar

    • I love the endless fragrance that is always strongest late at night, feel free to send a photo of any plant you do not know much about and I will find and post for you.

  2. How can such a lovely flower as the Treasure be considered an enviromeantal weed. I am interested in the flowers of Africa as I was born in Joehannasburg but left when still a baby.Orange is one of my favourite colours.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By new flowers « mon petit coin on 03 Dec 2008 at 3:40 pm

    […] décembre 2008 par manonf I found that great picture on Tellurian Flora […]

Leave a comment